The Girl Before by J P Delaney

The Girl Before: The addictive global bestsellerThe Girl Before: The addictive global bestseller by J.P. Delaney

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

You’re sent an ARC of The Girl Before by J P Delaney. On finishing, did you feel that it was a unique story experience, with exceptional twists and turns, making it an absolute must-read in this genre?

a) Yes [ ]
b) No [ ]
c) Maybe [x]

I don’t know about this book. Part of me liked it very much, a big part. But I’ve got some niggles with it, and in writing this review, it might help me understand my feels a bit.

Liked

The state-of-the-art home where our two protagonists lived. It was a breathtakingly impressive place, which had all the gizmos and gadgets cleverly hidden away to create a perfect minimalistic living space. I’d have to break some rules to live there though. Books and cushions.

Characters with unlikable traits. Yeah, I do like that. I enjoy their flawed and twisted personas and trying to fathom them out.

The subtle hint of kink. Yep, these were not vanilla folk. The author brought just enough to give it some sizzle, without too much detail. Some things are best left to the readers imagination.

Learning about Japanese cuisine. There’s far more to it than sushi and friggin hot wasabi. (See also ‘Disliked’)

How the two MC’s POV’s and stories merged as the story progressed.

Disliked

The first 30-40%. I just couldn’t get to grips with it! Those two girls, both with simple names, Jane and Emma. I couldn’t for the life of me distinguish between them initially. I resorted to having a scrap of paper by my side whilst reading, with ‘Jane, – present, Emma, – past’ scribbled on it so I knew whose voice I was hearing. It’s mad, it could of been just me, but I really had issues with those names. Both four letters, both very British, both rather samey. I dunno. *shrugs*

It had a half-way-through-major-eyeball-rolling-moment. It was predictable and typical.

Learning about Japanese cuisine. Urghhhh! Is that shit for real? No way. Nope. Stay away from my mouth.

So, my conclusion is, that, yes, it was a unique story experience, with twists that kept me engrossed until the end, but it wasn’t sensational.

Thank you to NetGalley and Quercus Books for the opportunity to read this in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

