Doll House by John Hunt

Doll HouseDoll House by John Hunt

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

‘….and I would of gotten away with it too, had it not been for that dog and you pesky kids!’

Ha! This came to mind on finishing Doll House. It felt very ‘Scooby-Doo’ as it headed to the conclusion. An 18+ version may I add, because it was sick and very gory in places. Scabby blood clot anyone? And a side order of ear maybe.

So, 2 stars? It didn’t deserve 1 star, as there were a fair few bits I really enjoyed and I think 1 star is too harsh for this.

The first quarter of the book wasn’t written very well. It seemed that the author struggled to get the momentum going, using very basic language and descriptions.

As the story became established, and the action got going, John Hunt found his feet. He’s rather good at creating a dark, tense scenario. I had feelings of foreboding and high tension at regular intervals, which is my reason for finishing this.

I thought I knew who the serial killer was, and prepared myself for the ultimate anticlimatic end ever, when, I was proved wrong! And for some reason I can’t quite put my finger on, it still felt a tad disappointing, but it pleased me that I was wrong. Had I of been right, it would have received just the 1 star.

I found this book difficult to review, as I always feel bad about not really liking an ARC. I am always thankful for the opportunity, however, reviews are personal and honest, and this is all I can find to say about this one. This book was initially heading for my DNF shelf, but I’m glad I persevered as there were snippets of good horror writing amongst all that naff!!

I’d like to thank Black Rose Writing and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

