Psycho Analysis by V R Stone

Psycho AnalysisPsycho Analysis by V.R. Stone

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

1 star seems a little harsh, but I just can’t give it 2.

Well, I’ve been all over the show with this one, I started writing this review before I’d even finished the book at around 85%. It started out as ‘liking it a lot’, and then to ‘it’s an average read’, and finally settling on ‘no, just no’. I’ll be honest, it just done my head right in. As my dear Mum would of said, “I was all at sixes and sevens with it!”

I’ve not had this happen ever before. Normally, books I’m feeling average-y about, whether I’ve just started, or I’m half way in, have a tendency to either grow on me, or plummet rapidly into the oblivion of DNF. But this one, I think perhaps indifferent would best describe my feelings.

Don’t get me wrong, it really isn’t a bad book, I’ve read far, far worse. It just seemed to fall flat, considering it had so much going for it. The writing style was well organised and the character combination was somewhat unique. A crazy-assed multi-millionaire female serial killer, a police detective with a serious weed problem complete with baggage galore, and an ironically bonkers psychotherapist who I was looking forward to getting to know. But I just didn’t care for any of it very much at all. Like my internet at times, I just had connectivity problems.

As the story unfolded, we are introduced to a few extended police characters who just felt like a bunch of faceless props. Although essential to the story, they just didn’t feel like they belonged. I was unable to visualise any of them. Luckily, the three main characters made up for this, particularly Sarah, our serial killer. Had it not been for her, I would of probably DNF’d this.

There were a few big reveals, nothing spectacular, just a little bit lack-lustre I’m afraid. It had the potential for some OMG and WTF moments, but alas, there was none. Actually, I lie. There was one WTF, but it was a bad WTF. At 86% there is a small chapter which is just absolutely horrible. Now, I’m no prude, and I’ve read a lot of gory questionable stuff in my time, but this, well, it was sickening. Had I of known this kind of content was in it, I WOULD NOT HAVE READ IT.

I’d like to thank the author, V R Stone and NetGalley for the opportunity to read this in exchange for an honest review. I’m just sorry I didn’t like it very much.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

